Book Review: Christmas Pudding

cpudding

After I finished Highland Fling my obvious choice to read next was Christmas Pudding.

Paul Fotheringay is a much misunderstand author who’s first book Crazy Capers is seen by the public as a funny book instead of the taking it seriously. He decides to give biography writing a go. I wondered if this was also Nancy going through the thought process of writing biographies herself.

Instead of making it easy for Paul to go and read the journals of Maria Bobbin he has to become the tutor of Roderick Bobbin. The excepts of the Lady Maria’s journal are wonderful to read and I found myself wishing she was real. I’ve even copied out her family tree from what I gleaned from the journal extracts.

Just like Highland Fling the writing is wonderfully witty. Scenes such as when they are discussing foot and mouth and Paul says he feels sorry for the cows. When asked which ones? The ones with feets and mouths. Then the wonderfully named children Christopher Robin and Wendy.

Christmas Pudding is most definitely meant to be read next as they do have shared ideas such as Victorian items coming back into fashion, people having their own era referred to as “my period”.

As you know I was devastated not to read in Highland Fling what became of Sally, Walter, Albert, Jane and the other people who stayed with them during Grouse season. So I was delighted to find them in Christmas Pudding! They may not have been the main characters (Albert and Jane a couple of lines reference to their marriage not working)

Nancy must have enjoyed writing about these people even more by not having to think of them as main protagonists all the time and work out how other people view their decisions and lifestyles.

Philadelphia’s engagement to Michael and Paul’s relief to this does work as the ending and you don’t feel left up in the air with the events of the book

I give Christmas Pudding 5/5

Leave a Reply

Creative and sustainable living 2015

52 ideas to share each week about living a more creative and sustainable life.

Coffee Stitcher's Stitchy Blog of Stitchy Awesome

All Stitching. All Coffee. All. The. Time.

GladeriderCrafts

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

crossquilt

Where the love of Cross-Stitch and Quilting meet!

knettycraft

my handcrafting life

Jennifer Edwards

Knitting a Life...Drawcumenting the Days

Fall from Grace Crafts

A blog on my craft journey highs and lows...

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Novel Conclusions

"We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master." - Ernest Hemingway

Bunny Stuff

My books, cross stitch, and a medley of life.

Word by Word

Books I've enjoyed, Journeys I've loved, Places that inspire

thestitchsharer

Knitting, Crochet and Sewing for Beginners

An Owl a Day Keeps Burnout Away...right?

One original owl a day for 365 days. It's a challenge, but I'm gonna give it a try.

nanacathydotcom

Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

