Book Review: The Night Circus

The Night Circus is about, surprisingly, a circus that opens at night. There is a backstory going on of two magicians who have a student each and have decided to make them compete to see who’s student is better. There is plenty of exciting detail about the acts that are in the circus and you follow the two students who gradually learn who their opponent is.

But I did feel there were many things going on in the book I would to have been explored in more detail such as the previous competitions between students of Prospero and Mr A H. The eventual falling in love between Celia and Marco felt slightly rushed and as it was a competition to the death, I wanted it to have a slightly more gritty ending.

But for a first novel conceived from Nanowrimo it was good.

I give it 3 out of 5 as I wanted a bit more depth

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah Ackroyd
    Dec 08, 2012 @ 20:18:45

    I didn’t know that this was a result of Nanowrimo! I have heard a lot of love/hate stories about this one, I may have to try it for myself and see what I think…it has been sat on my shelf for ages!

    Reply

  2. shayshortt
    Dec 09, 2012 @ 00:14:49

    I think the setting was the real star of this book! I agree that the romance felt rushed. I reviewed it here: http://shayshortt.wordpress.com/2012/11/06/the-night-circus/

    Reply

  3. Claire 'Word by Word'
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 23:58:24

    The Night Circus was the perfect post-Christmas escapist read for me, I enjoyed the story, though it felt a little reworked in parts (and the author does say at the end that it was a mess to start with – makes sense being a novel originally written in 30 days!) and the third person narrative perspective stopped me from completely immersing in any of the characters, but I loved how it provoked the imagination and allowed the reader to create that magical place as much as the writer herself.

    But as far as magic realism, for me nothing can touch The Snow Child, by far my absolute favourite read this year, stunning writing and a fabulous story both.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Creative and sustainable living 2015

52 ideas to share each week about living a more creative and sustainable life.

Coffee Stitcher's Stitchy Blog of Stitchy Awesome

All Stitching. All Coffee. All. The. Time.

GladeriderCrafts

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

crossquilt

Where the love of Cross-Stitch and Quilting meet!

knettycraft

my handcrafting life

Jennifer Edwards

Knitting a Life...Drawcumenting the Days

Fall from Grace Crafts

A blog on my craft journey highs and lows...

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Novel Conclusions

"We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master." - Ernest Hemingway

Bunny Stuff

My books, cross stitch, and a medley of life.

Word by Word

Books I've enjoyed, Journeys I've loved, Places that inspire

thestitchsharer

Knitting, Crochet and Sewing for Beginners

An Owl a Day Keeps Burnout Away...right?

One original owl a day for 365 days. It's a challenge, but I'm gonna give it a try.

nanacathydotcom

Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

