Book Review: Snuff by Terry Pratchett

Snuff is the latest book in the popular Discworld series (number 39) and is the first one I have read.

I have tried reading the Discworld books before but could never get into them or get my head around the concepts. It took me ten years but it was well worth the wait! It was only by chance seeing it in the chart book section that made me think give it another go. I think what it was I couldn’t get to grips with before was the humour.

For those of you who have never come across it, Discworld is a world that is entirely flat that is carried on the backs of four elephants which stand on the back of one turtle named Great A’Tuin

These novels are parodies and even though a great many children read them I wonder if they quite understand all the little clever touches Pratchett weaves into every page.

Snuff is about Commander Sam Vimes, a high ranking City Watch policeman, who is forced to spend a vacation in the country with his wife Sybil and his son Sam. What lies ahead of Commander Sam Vimes is a goblin murder mystery. Goblins are the only species that doesn’t seem to be accepted in Discworld but after the brutal murder of a young female goblin, Vimes softens his approach to them and helps them become accepted into society.

As I have read a few murder mystery titles before and as this felt a familiar scenario perhaps that’s why I got into it so easily.

My favourite character was Stinky the goblin who I hope Pratchett will write a novel about soon!

I will defintely by reading the other Discworld novels and I hope to enjoy them all as much as I did this one.

Rating 4/5 I kept getting confused about a couple of names and some of the species of characters in the City Watch.

Leave a Reply

Creative and sustainable living 2015

52 ideas to share each week about living a more creative and sustainable life.

Coffee Stitcher's Stitchy Blog of Stitchy Awesome

All Stitching. All Coffee. All. The. Time.

GladeriderCrafts

Somewhere I can let out my inner crafter without being labeled as even more insane.

crossquilt

Where the love of Cross-Stitch and Quilting meet!

knettycraft

my handcrafting life

Jennifer Edwards

Knitting a Life...Drawcumenting the Days

Fall from Grace Crafts

A blog on my craft journey highs and lows...

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

Novel Conclusions

"We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master." - Ernest Hemingway

Bunny Stuff

My books, cross stitch, and a medley of life.

Word by Word

Books I've enjoyed, Journeys I've loved, Places that inspire

thestitchsharer

Knitting, Crochet and Sewing for Beginners

An Owl a Day Keeps Burnout Away...right?

One original owl a day for 365 days. It's a challenge, but I'm gonna give it a try.

nanacathydotcom

Yarn, Yorkshire and All Manner of Wonderful Things!

